The ruins of the San Francisco Monastery – the Monasterio de San Francisco in Santo Domingo in the Dominican Republic are located in the Zonia Colonial, the old part of the city originally settles in the late 15th and early 16th century by the Spanish. It was built in 1508, sacked by Francis Drake in 1586 and over the centuries repaired.
As recently as the 1930s, it was used as a mental asylum. After a damaging hurricane at this time, it was abandoned and hasn’t been repaired since.
It remains an interesting landmark in the middle of the city, showcasing the style of building with stone and red tiles that is prevalent in many of the other historical sites.
Photo taken February 2009.